Cioran bursary

Created thanks to Simone Boué’s legacy of the royalties payable on the work of her partner Emil Cioran, this bursary is awarded yearly to a Francophone essayist to permit the accomplishment of a personal authorship project (an essay of a philosophical, historical, literary or political nature).

General eligibility criteria

The candidate must be an author, writing in the French language, who has published an essay – i.e. a literary work of a personal nature, freely structured, not following any academic model) with a professional publisher, whose print run was at least 500 copies, on a subject of a philosophical, historical, literary or political nature.

The Cioran bursary cannot be obtained more than once by the same author.

The application dossier

The candidate must fill in the ‘Cioran bursary’ application form and return it, with the requested documents, to Jean-Pierre Cescosse, at the CNL department of creation.

Before beginning to constitute an application dossier, we strongly advise candidates to make sure it is eligible by sending their bibliography and the subject of their project to Jean-Pierre Cescosse, at the department of creation.

Application submission deadline:

31 January

Potential award amount

12 000€

Attribution criteria

The decision to attribute the bursary is made by a committee of four people (including the President of the CNL) who take into consideration the candidate’s previous works, the essay project, and finally, the candidate’s personal situation.

At the time of publication, the beneficiary must send two copies of the essay, after attribution of the bursary, and cause their publisher to include the following notice in the book: ‘The author received a Cioran bursary from the Centre national du livre for this work’.

The bursary must be declared as ‘BNC’ in the author’s income tax return.

Information and application form

The department of creation
Cioran bursary

Jean-Pierre CESCOSSE
01 49 54 68 17 / jean-pierre.cescosse@centrenationaldulivre.fr

Bourse Cioran

Créée grâce au legs de Simone Boué sur les droits d’auteurs de l’œuvre d’Emil Cioran, dont elle fut la compagne, cette bourse est décernée chaque année à un essayiste de langue française afin de lui permettre de mener à bien un projet d’essai de facture libre, d’ordre philosophique et/ou littéraire, dans la lignée des grands essayistes, de Montaigne à Cioran.

Éligibilité générale

Le candidat doit être d’expression française et avoir publié chez un éditeur professionnel au moins un essai à plus de 500 exemplaires sur des sujets d’ordre philosophique et/ou littéraire.

La bourse Cioran ne peut être obtenue qu’une seule fois par le même auteur.

Présentation du dossier

Le candidat doit remplir le formulaire « Bourse Cioran » et le renvoyer, avec les documents demandés, à Jean-Pierre Cescosse, au département de la création du CNL.

Avant de constituer un dossier, il est vivement conseillé au candidat de vérifier son éligibilité auprès de Jean-Pierre Cescosse, au département de la création, en lui adressant sa bibliographie et le sujet de son projet d’écriture.

Date limite de dépôt des dossiers

28 février 2016

Montant susceptible d’être attribué

12 000 €

Modalités d’attribution

La bourse est attribuée par un comité de quatre personnes (dont le Président du CNL) au vu des publications antérieures, du projet d’essai et, en dernier lieu, de la situation personnelle du candidat.

Il est demandé au bénéficiaire d’adresser, au moment de la publication, deux exemplaires de l’essai consécutif à l’attribution de la bourse et d’obtenir de son éditeur la mention suivante : « Pour la rédaction de cet ouvrage, l’auteur a bénéficié d’une bourse Cioran décernée par le Centre national du livre ».

La bourse doit faire l’objet d’une déclaration de revenus au titre des bénéfices non commerciaux.

Renseignements et demande de formulaire

Département de la création

Littérature classique et critique littéraire
Associations d’amis d’auteur
Librairie langues du monde
Bourse Cioran
Jean-Pierre CESCOSSE
01 49 54 68 17 / jean-pierre.cescosse@centrenationaldulivre.fr