The CNL Commissions

Organized by discipline, the commissions are comprised of more than 200 independent specialists named for a three-year term by the Ministry of Culture, on the recommendation of the CNL President. Writers, scholars, journalists, researchers, artists, translators, critics, publishers, booksellers, curators, and literary figures generally gather three times per year to consider requests for funding, loans, or grants, to provide funding attribution recommendations to the President of the CNL. The commissions’ activity also draws upon a vast network of outside contributors (readers and reporters) who comprise the third layer of experts, and who contribute to the quality of the CNL’s actions.